Glorious Goodwood Preview, Odds & Offers 2017

Set in the beautiful surroundings of the Sussex countryside, Glorious Goodwood is one of the stand out events of the summer race schedule. With an abundance of hats and suits to match, the 5 day Flat meeting takes place at the start of August. The summer meeting runs from the 1st to the 5th of the month this year. The event does not have the glamour or prestige of Royal Ascot but the racing is high class and competitive. There has been a significant increase in prize money due to investment from Qatar. However, that has created a potentially difficult situation because many horses owned by Godolphin are leading contenders. The organisation is based in UAE and that country is not communicating with Qatar due to issues not related to racing. The meeting comprises five days of Group racing and heritage handicaps which have large fields and are highly competitive. The official title is now the Qatar Goodwood Festival. Bookmakers are offering plenty of racing free bets for one of the major Flat meetings of the season.

Our Top recommended Bookmakers for Glorious Goodwood
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

The grounds of Goodwood are rich in history with motorsport a major theme at the estate. Throughout the year it also hosts the famous Festival of Speed and Goodwood revival.

Glorious Goodwood 2017 Race Schedule

Day 1 Tuesday August 1st

Time - Race - Distance

1.50pm Matchbook Betting Exchange Handicap 1m 2f

2.25pm Qatar Vintage Stakes (Group 2) 7f

3.00pm Qatar Lennox Stakes (Group 2) 7f

3.35pm Qatar Goodwood Cup (Group 1) 2m

4.10pm Irish Thoroughbred Marketing EBF Stakes 6f

4.45pm New & Lingwood Handicap Stakes 5f

5.15pm The Smarter Bets with Matchbook Stakes 1m

2016 Result: Big Orange Jamie Spencer Michael Bell 11/4F


  • Double Trigger is the only 3 times winner (1995,1996 and 1997).
  • Horses aged three and older are eligible.
  • The last three-year-old winner was Lucky Moon in 1990.
  • Persian Punch is the oldest winner at 10 (2003).
  • Big Orange has won the Goodwood Cup in the last two years.

Day 2 Wednesday August 2nd

Time - Race - Distance

1.50pm Matchbook Goodwood Handicap Stakes 2m5f

2.25pm Odds with Matchbook Handicap Stakes 1m4f

3.00pm Bombay Molecomb Stakes (Group 3) 5f

3.35pm Qatar Sussex Stakes (Group 1) 1m (Feature Race)

4.10pm Markel Insurance Maiden Fillies Stakes 6f

4.45pm EBF Breeders Series Fillies Stakes 1m2f

5.20pm Qatar International Stakes (Group 1) 1m

5.50pm Cantor Fitzgerald Handicap Stakes 7f 

2016 Result: The Gurkha Ryan Moore Aidan O’Brien 11/8F


  • Frankel is the only horse to have won the race twice (2011 and 2012).
  • Since 2007 the winner has been aged 3, 4 or 5.
  • Aidan O’Brien has had 5 winners this century.
  • Johnny Murtagh is the most successful jockey since 2000 (3 wins).
  • Coolmore and Khalid Abdullah are the leading owners with 7 wins.

Day 3 Thursday August 3rd

Time - Race - Distance

1.20pm Swarovski Magnolia Cup 5.5 furlongs

1.50pm Matchbook Handicap Stakes 1m2f

2.25pm Markel Insurance Fillies Stakes (Group 3) 1m6f

3.00pm Qatar Richmond Stakes (Group 2) 6f

3.35pm Qatar Nassau Stakes (Group 1) 1m2f (Feature Race)

4.10pm Telegraph Nursery Stakes 7f

4.45pm Victoria Racing Club Maiden Stakes 7f

5.20pm Tatler Stakes 5f

2016 Result: Minding Ryan Moore Aidan O’Brien 1/5F


  • Midday is the only three times winner (2009, 2010 and 2011)
  • Sir Henry Cecil is the leading trainer with 8 wins from 1975 to 2011).
  • The race is open to mares and fillies aged three and older so no colt has won it.
  • Every winner since 1975 has been aged 3, 4 or 5.
  • Aidan O’Brien and John Gosden have had 3 winners this century.

Day 4 Friday August 4th

Time - Race - Distance

1.50pm Betfred Glorious Stakes (Group 3) 1m 4f

2.25pm Bonhams Thoroughbred Stakes (Group 3) 1m

3.00pm Betfred Mile Handicap Stakes 1m

3.35pm Qatar King George Stakes (Group 2) 5f (Feature Race)

4.10pm Betfred Nursery Stakes Handicap 6f

4.45pm L’Ormarins Queens Plate (Group 3) 7f

5.15pm Betfred Jack Berry House Stakes (H’cap) 1m 3f

2016 Result: Take Cover David Allan DC Griffiths 8/1


  • Take Cover (2014 and 2016) is the latest of 7 horses to have 2 wins.
  • The leading owner and trainer date back to 1962 and before.
  • Horses in the age range of 3 to 9 have won the latest four renewals.
  • Take Cover’s trainer and William Haggas are dual winners this century.
  • Ryan Moore won the race in 2007 and 2009.

Day 5 Saturday August 5th

Time - Race - Distance

1.50pm Qatar Stewards’ Sprint Stakes 6f

2.25pm Qatar Summer Handicap 1m 6f

3.00pm Qatar Gordon Stakes (Group 3) 1m 4f

3.35pm Qatar Stewards’ Cup (Heritage H’cap) 6f (Feature Race)

4.10pm Qatar E.B.F. Stallions Maiden Stakes 7f

4.45pm Qatar Handicap Stakes (H’cap) 7f

5.20pm Qatar Apprentice Stakes (H’cap) 1m1f

2016 Result: Dancing Star David Probert Andrew Balding 9/2F


  • The race is open to horses aged three and older.
  • Only one horse older than six has won the race since 1978.
  • The last two winners were the only successful three-year-olds this century.
  • Hoof It (2011) is the only winner to carry 10 stone over the last 39 years.
  • The last 3 winners carried less than nine stone and nine in total this century.

All betting odds are correct as at 26/07/2017 and are subject to change.

Goodwood betting markets

Betting on Goodwood features all of the usual horse racing markets. From the obvious for specific races to ante-post options for the festival as a whole, there are plenty of opportunitites including:

  • Individual race winners
  • Distance of winning margin
  • Jockey with the most winning rides during the festival
  • Trainer with the most winning rides during the festival

Facts And Figures

  • Goodwood 2017 runs from Tuesday August 1st to Saturday August 5th.
  • There are seven races on three days and eight on two so 37 in total.
  • The programme includes four Group One races and 13 Group races in total.
  • The Stewards Cup is the most famous Heritage Handicaps during the week.
  • The meeting is shown live on ITV and Racing UK.
  • The meeting offers total prize money of £4.5 million.
  • Glorious Goodwood is one of the highlights of the Flat season. 

Course Description

Goodwood is one of the most idiosyncratic courses in Britain. There is a straight six furlong course and then two elements to the rest of the track. Some races start on a loop and join the straight at the top bend and others join the straight on a lower bend. Due to the nature of the course there is no draw advantage. Here is a guide to Goodwood Racecourse and the other tracks in Britain and Ireland.

History of Glrorious Goodwood

Racing at Goodwood first came about at the dawn on the 19th century as the Duke of Richmond set out a course on Goodwood Estate known as "The Harroway". The first meets were scheduled for the benefit of the Sussex Militia, for whom the Duke was a colonel. The officers set up a annual race which was initially a two-day meeting which was quickly developed to a three day affair after its initial success.

Racing continued at Goodwood but it began to get really popular after the Second World War. During the July meeting on the Tuesday in 1953, 55,000 flocked in their droves to experience the thrill of the races that summer. The event has now gone from strength to strength and has firmly established itself as one of the jewels in the crown of the British flat racing season.

Daily Betting Offers
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top