New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

Grand National Free Bets and new Customer Offers for 2020

The Grand National is a Grade 3 handicap chase run at Aintree racecourse over 4 miles, three and a half furlongs. It is the most valuable jumps race in Europe and arguably the most famous race in the world. The two circuits include 30 fences and the race has such history that some of them have names, such as Becher’s Brook, Valentines, the Canal Turn and the Chair.

Our top bookmaker offers for the 2019 Grand National
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly


The global viewing figures have been estimated at between 500 and 600 million people which makes it easily the most watched horse race in the world. The race has been called “the ultimate test of horse and rider” and the people’s race. Its uniqueness attracts millions of once a year punters who would not dream of betting on any other races.  It is also by some distance the most watched event in UK racing and viewing figures could increase when ITV cover the race this year.

As the most high profile race of the year the Grand National attracts attention from animal rights organisations. Some well documented fatalities have led to safety modifications which have taken away some of the risks to the horses without losing the intrinsic nature of the race. Statistically, accidents are more common in the National than in conventional chases but there seems to be a good balance between setting a demanding challenge and eliminating the potential of injuries to the horses.

2019 Grand National

The 2019 Grand National took place at Aintree on Saturday April 6 and resulted in a second successive win for Tiger Roll becoming only the second horse to do so.


  1. Tiger Roll - 9/2 fav - trained by Gordon Elliott and ridden by Davy Russell
  2. Magic of Light - 66/1 - trained by Mrs John and ridden by Paddy Kennedy
  3. Rathvinden - 8/1 - trained by Willie Mullins with Ruby Walsh in the saddle.
  4. Walk in the Mill - 25/1 - trained by Robert Watford and ridden by James Best

Grand National History

If the Grand National is the world’s most famous race than arguably Red Rum is the most famous horse. He is the only three times winner of the National and was trained on the beach at Southport which is just up the coast from Liverpool. The horse suffered career threatening injuries but the sea water cured them so that ‘Rummy’ was able to win three Nationals and finish second in two others.

George Stevens is the leading jockey with five winners but they were between 1856 and 1870. Three trainers have won four Nationals including Ginger McCain who trained Red Rum and Amberleigh House who won the race in 2004, 27 years after Red Rum’s last win. His owner, Noel Le Mare, is one of three owners to have had three wins in the race.  One of the others is Trevor Hemmings who could become the first four time winner if Many Clouds wins the race again.

Many punters use trends to eliminate some of the runners in what is usually a full field of 40 horses.  Eight of the last ten winners were aged between 9 and 12, had a handicap rating of over 135, carried 11 stone 6 pounds or less, had previously won over three miles, had run in 10 chases or more and won one worth at least £13,000.  A strange fact is that five of the last ten winners ran over hurdles in the season they won the Grand National, the most gruelling chase of the year.

Since 1977 only Neptune Collognes (2012) and Many Clouds (2015) have carried more than 11st 5lbs. Every winner since 1970 had won over three miles and a horse under the age of eight has not won the race in 75 years. Seven of the last 18 winners had previous experience of the Grand National fences and 24 of the last 28 winners were ridden prominently from the start of the second circuit. Sixteen of the last 27 winners were in the first eight in the betting and since 2000 only one outright favourite have obliged but two joint favourites have won the race.  

The Last Twenty Winners of the Grand National

  • 2019 - Tiger Roll (9/2F) Gordon Ellliott,Davy Russell
  • 2018 - Tiger Roll (10/1) Gordon Ellliott,Davy Russell
  • 2017 – One for Arthur (14/1) Lucinda Russell, Derek Fox.  
  • 2016 – Rule The World (33/1) Mouse Morris, David Mullins
  • 2015 – Many Clouds (25/1) Oliver Sherwood, Leighton Aspell
  • 2014 – Pineau De Re (25/1) Richard Newland, Leighton Aspell
  • 2013 – Auroras Encore (66/1) Sue Smith, Ryan Mania
  • 2012 – Neptune Collonges (33/1) Paul Nicholls, Daryl Jacob
  • 2011 – Ballabriggs (14/1) Donald McCain, Jr, Jason Maguire
  • 2010 – Don’t Push It (10/1JF) Jonjo O’Neill, Tony McCoy
  • 2009 – Mon Mome (100/1) Venetia Williams, Liam Treadwell
  • 2008 – Comply or Die (7/1JF) David Pipe, Timmy Murphy
  • 2007 – Silver Birch (33/1) Gordon Eliott, Robbie Power
  • 2006 – Nubersixvalverde (11/1) Martin Brassil, Niall Madden
  • 2005 – Hedgehunter (7/1F) Willie Mullins, Ruby Walsh
  • 2004 – Amberleigh House (16/1) Ginger McCain, Richard Lee
  • 2003 – Monty’s Pass (16/1) Jimmy Mangan, Barry Geraghty
  • 2002 – Bindaree (20/1) Nigel Twiston-Davies, Jim Culloty
  • 2001 – Red Marauder (33/1) Norman Mason, Richard Guest
  • 2000 – Papillon (10/1) Ted Walsh, Ruby Walsh
Bag Yourself The Best Acca

18+. Acca Insurance: Min selection odds 1/10. Acca odds 3/1. Pre-match straight line accas only. 1 free bet up to £/€10 per customer/day, credited within 24 hrs, valid for 7 days, Min 1 boost per day. Full T&Cs apply

Bet £10 Get £5 Free Bet for each of Saturday's Premier League Games

New customers only (+18) • £10 dep using promo code "PL40" • Min stake £10 at odds of 1/2 (1.5) • Free bets credited upon qual bet settlement and expire after 7 days • Withdrawal restrictions and full Ts & Cs apply.

Ajax to win 11/1 |OR| Chelsea 18/1 win

New customers only. £10 min dept using promo code "888ODDS" req. Qual bet must be placed at the normal odds Min//max £5. Extra winnings paid in FREE BETS added within 72 hrs of qualifying bet settlement valid for 7 days.T&Cs apply

Liverpool to Score 20/1

New customers using CL20. A maximum £1 can be staked at 20/1. Bets placed from 08:00 on 22/10/2019 until 20:00 on 23/10/2019. Returns paid in 4 x £5 free bets. Player & currency restrictions & terms apply.

Bet £10 on Football and Get £40 in Free Bets + £10 Casino Bonus

New customers only. 18+ Min dep £10. UK customers only. Place a £10+ bet on football of odds 1/1 (2.00) or greater to receive 4x£10 in football free bets expiring after 7 days plus £10 Casino bonus (35x wagering req) T&Cs apply.


Applies to pre-match, First Try Scorer singles. Max Stake £10 for qualifying bets. Bonus winnings paid at the lower odds of the two players. T&Cs apply.

Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Special Racebets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly
Back to Top