New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

ICC Champions Trophy Free Bets

You're going to have to wait until 2021 for the next ICC Champions Trophy thanks to a mess up by the ICC with their One Day International cricket tournament plans. But that won't stop the bookies having markets on all sorts of options when it does roll around again.

Our top recommended bookmakers for ICC Champions Trophy Free Bets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly


Where to use your free ICC Champions Trophy bet

The winning team will be what attracts most betting at the ICC Champions Trophy and as ever in tournaments only involving eight teams there is often little to separate the teams in the odds. The likes of India and South Africa will often commend some of the shortest odds in limited overs competitions and New Zealand and West Indies will be nearer the foot of the list, but any team is capable of lifting the trophy as has been proved in the past.

With the nature of the two group stages there is also plenty of opportunity to have a flutter on who is to be the winner of each group and who is to be the team qualifying in second. As mentioned every team is genuinely capable of beating any other in the Champions Trophy so there is plenty of money to be made on the qualifying or not qualifying markets.

The top batsman and bowler markets are also always an interesting topic of debate amongst the cricketing fraternity, they are often tricky to predict and can be considerably affected by just one performance. A big century or a demolition of a tail and someone can be shot from outsider to favourite in either of these markets in no time at all.

Thanks to the rise of Twenty20 the scoring is now quicker than ever and there are opportunities to profit from this by backing the batsman who scores the quickest half-century or hundred in the tournament. With stars of the international scene like Virat Kohli, David Warner and AB de Villiers all on show in the Champions Trophy there are plenty who look tempting to back with a free bet.

How to get hold of your ICC Champions Trophy free bet

Cricket may well be a sport that is limited to a small number of countries at international level but that does not stop all major bookmakers covering the sport in a huge amount of detail. Simply choose the market you are most interested in and the bookmaker who will provide the most tempting odds and head over to their website by clicking on one of the links on the right hand side of the page.

Once on the bookies’ site then simply follow the straight-forward registration process, and follow the procedure for cashing in your free bet for that specific bookmaker. Click on your preferred market, put your funds into the betting slip and away you go.

Popular ICC Champions Trophy bets

The number of markets on which you can use your cricket free bets has grown remarkably over the past ten years. Where once punters were restricted to betting on the match winner and perhaps the number of runs scored in an innings, there is now the option to use cricket free bets on a vast number of different markets:

  • Top team run scorer
  • Top team wicket taker
  • Number of extras in an innings
  • Batsmen match bets
  • Number of runs within an over
  • method of dismissal
  • Highest opening partnership
  • Century scored
  • Total 4s and total 6s ......

There are just a handful of the markets now offered by most bookmakers on almost every international cricket match as well as many domestic ones too.

£20 Free Bets Coral

Background of the ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is the second biggest 50-over cricket tournament but with the Cricket World Cup leading the way the ICC wanted just one tournament for all the various forms of the game. So a proposed ICC World test Championship - replacing the Champions Trophy - was formed and then cancelled not long after and the Champions Trophy reinstalled. Confused? You're not the only one!

It first came into being as the Wills International Cup or the ICC KnockOut Trophy back in 1998 hosted by Bangladesh. South Africa will hold this tournament in high regard as it is the only world tournament they have ever won as they romped to victory beating England, Sri Lanka and West Indies all fairly easily on their way to the trophy.

It has been a fruitful tournament for the under-performers elsewhere as New Zealand became the second champions just two years later in Kenya, again this being their only tournament win when Chris Cairns knocked off the total posted by runners-up India.

Since then, Sri Lanka and India shared a title (after the final was rained off twice), West Indies picked up a trophy in England and then Australia became the only side to win back to back Champions Trophies in 2006 and ’09. India won their second title in 2013 while England lag far behind. They are the only nation to have hosted more than one ICC Champions Trophies but are yet to win any.

The first two editions of the tournament were knockout affairs and after some involvement from the associate members of the ICC through the middle years the competition has now settled on an eight team contest. The eight sides are split into two groups of four with the top two from each group heading into the semi-finals.

Then came the World Test Championship. It was intended to become the premier championship for Test cricket run by the ICCwith the play-offs were scheduled to be held for the first time in 2017. The original plans to hold the competition in 2013 were abandoned due to financial problems.

It was going to replace the ICC Champions Trophy. The ICC has also announced plans to stage the second Test championship in India in Feb-March 2021. The top four ranked teams on December 31, 2016 – the cut-off date set by the International Cricket Council (ICC) - would have played the three-match Test championship between the first and third weeks of June 2017. There would have been two semi-finals and the winners play the final.

During January 2014 the ICC World Test Championship was cancelled - due to a reported lack of funding (and probably mass confusion) - and the ICC Champions Trophy returned in 2017, with Pakistan claiming their first ever title.

Back to Top