New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

League One Free Bets

Life in League One certainly isn't an easy one. It's a really competitive league but teams live on a knife-edge. A good run of results can put you in with a chance of winning promotion to the Championship, the second level of football in England. A poor set of results can put you in danger of ending up in League Two, the bottom rung of the Football league ladder.

With each team playing 46 and plenty of mid-week action, there nearly always seems to be League One action to bet on with fixtures not overly affected by the international breaks. 

Our top recommended bookmakers for League One
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

League One Betting Offers

Bookmaker Offer Details Claim Offer
paddy power logo white text on black background
Risk Free 20 Football

New Paddy Power customers can receive their stake back in cash up to a maximum of £20 if their first qualifying bet on the sportsbook is a loser.

New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer. Place your first bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £/€20. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply.

Claim This Offer Now
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 - Full Time Result - Enhanced Prices

This Bet365 offer gives you the option of taking an enhanced price on the full time result of a game for selected matches only applies to games being played in the English competitions, Champions League and Europa League.

Claim Offer


2019-20 League One Season

The new League One season began on Saturday 3 August. 

Top Ten after February 29

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Points
1 Rotherham United 34 18 8 8 62
2 Coventry City 32 16 13 3 61
3 Portsmouth 33 17 8 8 59
4 Wycombe Wanderers 34 17 8 9 59
5 Sunderland 33 16 10 7 58
6 Oxford United 34 16 9 9 57
7 Peterborough United 34 16 8 10 56
8 Fleetwood Town 32 15 10 7 55
9 Ipswich Town 34 14 10 10 52
10 Doncaster Rovers 33 14 9 10 51


 Bottom of the table after February 29

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Points
18 MK Dons 34 10 7 17 37
19 AFC Wimbledon 34 8 10 16 34
20 Rochdale 33 9 6 18 33
21 Tranmere Rovers  32 6 8 18 26
22 Southend United 34 3 7 24 16
23 Bolton Wanderers (-12 points) 32 5 9 18 12


There are now only 23 teams in the league due to the expulsion of Bury with the bottom three relegated.


Here's a list of the teams taking part in the League One this season with their 2018-19 finishing position in brackets.

  • Accrington Stanley (14th)
  • AFC Wimbledon (20th)
  • Blackpool (10th)
  • Bolton Wanderers (relegated from the Championship in 23rd place)
  • Bristol Rovers (15th)
  • Burton Albion (9th)
  • Coventry City (8th)
  • Doncaster Rovers (6th)
  • Fleetwood Town (11th)
  • Gillingham (13th)
  • Ipswich Town (finished bottom of the Championship)
  • Lincoln City (League Two Champions)
  • MK Dons (promoted after finishing third in League Two)
  • Oxford United (12th)
  • Peterborough United (7th)
  • Portsmouth (4th)
  • Rochdale (16th)
  • Rotherham United (relegated from the Championship in 22nd place)
  • Shrewsbury Town (18th)
  • Southend United (19th)
  • Sunderland (5th)
  • Tranmere Rovers (won League Two play-offs)
  • Wycombe Wanderers (17th)

 Both Bury and Bolton Wanderers will start the season on -12 points. Deductions have been made over financial issues.

League One Betting Markets

As with most football competitions, there are plenty of opportunities to use a Free Bet on League One including in the following markets:

  • League Winners
  • Who will get promoted
  • Who will make the play-offs
  • Who'll be relegated to LeagueTwo
  • Top Northern Club
  • Top Southern Club
  • Top goalscorer in the league and for each side
  • Handicap betting
  • League positions at certain stages of the season

Where to place your League One Free Bet

More often than not the club's that have been relegated from the Championship will be the favourites for promotion. The league has seen some big names in the last few years with the likes of Nottingham Forest, Leeds, Leicester and Southampton all having spells in the division. Clubs of these stature are usually able to bounce back in to the Championship fairly quickly so perhaps Blackburn could be this year's equivalent. Sheffield Unted were regularly the favourites to win League One given their budget but they spent six seasons in the division before eventually winning promotion back to the Championship in the 2016-17 season. You can usually get good odds on teams winning the league as oppose to merely winning promotion so the value tends to lie in picking potential champions.

At the other end, it's the same story with the newly promoted clubs more often than not tipped to go straight back down. Though making their place in the higher division safe is usually newly promoted clubs top priority, some aim much higher and there has been ocassions where clubs earn back-to-back promotions and go from League Two to the Championship in just two seasons. Burton Albion are the most recent example, who after winning League Two in 2014-15 then finished 2nd in League One the season after to win promotion to the Championship for the first time in their history.

League One History 

2018-19 Season

Luton, Barnsley and Charlton Promoted

  1. Luton Town 94
  2. Barnsley 91
  3. Charlton Athletic 88 (promoted after beating Sunderland in the play-off final)
  4. Portsmouth 88
  5. Sunderland  85
  6. Doncaster Rovers 73


21 Plymouth Argyle 50

22 Walsall 47

23 Scunthorpe United 46

24 Bradford City 41 

Currently sponsored by Skybet, League One is previously known as the Second Division and to fans of an older age it's Division Three. Its current name has been in existence since the 2004-05 season and previous winners are:

  • 2018-19: Luton Town
  • 2017-18: Wigan Athletic
  • 2016-17: Sheffield United 
  • 2015-16: Wigan Athletic
  • 2014-15: Bristol City
  • 2013-14: Wolverhampton Wanderers
  • 2012-13: Doncaster Rovers
  • 2011-12: Charlton Athletic
  • 2010-11: Brighton and Hove Albion
  • 2009-10: Norwich City
  • 2008-09: Leicester City
  • 2007-08: Swansea City
  • 2006-07: Scunthorpe United
  • 2005-06: Southend United
  • 2004-05: Luton Town

Two of those League Champions now play in the Premier League (Swansea and Leicester) while promoted sides Southampton (2010-11) and Bournemouth (2012-13) also play in the top flight.

The Play-Offs

  Winners are:

  • 2018-19: Charlton Athletic
  • 2017-18: Rotherham United
  • 2016-17: Millwall
  • 2015-16: Barnsley
  • 2014-15: Preston North End
  • 2013-14: Rotherham United
  • 2012-13: Yeovil Town
  • 2011-12: Huddersfield Town
  • 2010-11: Peterborough United
  • 2009-10: Millwall
  • 2008-09: Scunthorpe United
  • 2007-08: Doncaster Rovers
  • 2006-07: Blackpool
  • 2005-06: Barnsley
  • 2004-05: Sheffield Wednesday

Teams finishing third and fourth have both won the play-offs on five occasions. Fifth placed teams have won twice and the team in sixth has won just once.


Back to Top