League Two Free Bets

There's always a great mix of teams in this division. There's the 18 teams that took part in the league last season, four sides relegated from League One last season and not wanting to spend too much time in League Two and two excited sides promoted from non-league football last season.

There's an intriguing combination of sides in the division with some former Premier League outfits who have fallen on hard times as well as club's fresh out of the non-league scene. The likes of Barnet and Dagenham and Redbridge are two recent examples of smaller sides who have made the jump from the semi-professional game and the 2017-18 season will see Forest Green Rovers at this level for the first time. Their promotion means that the Gloucestershire town of Nailsworth in which they are based, is the smallest settlement ever to host league football in this country with a population of just over 5,000.

Our top recommended bookmakers for League Two
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

League Two Betting Offers

Bookmaker Offer Details Claim Offer
Bet £10 Get £30 Plus £10 on any golf in free bets

New customers only – Min dep of £10 using deposit code 10FREE - qualifying bet is real money stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market. Min odds 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets expire after 7 days, full T&Cs apply.

Claim This Offer Now

Latest League Two Latest News

Lincoln Win the Title - Final Table

  1. Lincoln City 85
  2. Bury 79
  3. MK Dons 79
  4. Mansfield Town 76
  5. Forest Green Rovers 74
  6. Tranmere Rovers 73
  7. Newport County 71
  8. Colchester United 70

Play-Off Fixtures

Thursday 9 May

7.45pm - Newport County 1 Mansfield Town 1

Friday 10 May

7.45pm - Tranmere Rovers 1 Forest Green Rovers 0

Sunday 12 May

6pm - Mansfield Town 0 Newport County 0 - Newport County won on penalties

Monday 13 May

7.45pm - Forest Green Rovers 1 Tranmere Rovers 1 - Tranmere Rovers won 2-1 on aggregate


May 25

Play-off Final 3pm - Newport County v Tranmere Rovers

Bottom of Table 

  • 22nd Macclesfield 44
  • 23rd Notts County 41 (relegated)
  • 24th Yeovil Town 40 (relegated)



League Two 2018-19

There are 24 teams taking part in League Two this season. Here's a list in alphabetical order of who's taking part and how they got on last season.

  1. Bury (botton of League One)
  2. Cambridge United (12th)
  3. Carlisle United (10th)
  4. Cheltenham Town (17th)
  5. Colchester United (13th)
  6. Crawley Town (14th)
  7. Crewe Alexandra (15th)
  8. Exeter City (4th)
  9. Forest Green Rovers (21st)
  10. Grimsby Town (18th)
  11. Lincoln City (7th)
  12. Macclesfield Town (winner of National League)
  13. Mansfield Town (8th)
  14. MK Dons (23rd in League One)
  15. Morecambe (22nd)
  16. Newport County (11th)
  17. Northampton Town (22nd in League One)
  18. Notts County (5th)
  19. Oldham (21st in League One)
  20. Port Vale (20th)
  21. Stevenage (16th)
  22. Swindon Town (9th)
  23. Tranmere Rovers (2nd in National League, won play-offs)
  24. Yeovil Town (19th)

How to Use Your Free Bet on League Two 

There are plenty of opportunities to use a Free Bet in League Two

  • League Winners
  • Who will get promoted
  • Who will make the play-offs
  • Who'll be relegated to the National League
  • Individual games
  • Next manager to leave their club
  • Top Northern Club
  • Top Southern Club
  • Top goalscorer in the league and for each side
  • Handicap betting
  • League positions at certain stages of the season

League Two History 

Currently sponsored by Skybet, League One is previously known as the Third Division and to fans of an older age it's Division Four.  Its current name has been in existence since the 2004-05 season and previous winners are:

  • 2016-17: Portsmouth
  • 2015-16: Northampton Town
  • 2014-15: Burton Albion
  • 2013-14: Chesterfield
  • 2012-13: Gillingham
  • 2011-12: Swindon
  • 2010-11: Chesterfield
  • 2009-10: Notts County
  • 2008-09: Brentford
  • 2007-08: MK Dons
  • 2006-07: Walsall
  • 2005-06: Carlisle United
  • 2004-05: Yeovil Town

Of those teams Brentford and Burton Albion are now in the Championship while Yeovil and Notts County are back in League Two.

The Play-Offs 

There are three automatic promotion places in League Two. The sides finishing fourth to seventh go into the play-offs with two-legged semi-finals and then a final at Wembley Stadium. Previous Winners are:

  • 2016-17: Blackpool
  • 2015-16: AFC Wimbledon
  • 2014-15: Southend United
  • 2013-14: Fleetwood Town
  • 2012-13: Bradford City
  • 2011-12: Crewe Alexandra
  • 2010-11: Stevenage
  • 2009-10: Dagenham & Redbridge
  • 2008-09: Gillingham
  • 2007-08: Stockport County
  • 2006-07: Bristol Rovers
  • 2005-06: Cheltenham Town
  • 2004-05: Southend United

The Dreaded Drop

At one time the bottom four teams in what was then Division Four used to have to stand for re-election to the league. This process developed into a process where the side finishing bottom of the table were relegated to the Conference (now the National League) and replaced by the Conference Champions.  In recent years this has been adapted to the bottom two sides in League Two going down and being replaced by the Conference winners and the winners of the Conference Play-offs.

Not all the teams that get relegated are able to make it back into the Football League. Some suffer financial problems due to their relegation, for example Rushden & Diamonds, Chester and Hereford went out of business.  Of teams relegated since 2004-05, 14 will be playing in non-league football this coming season. This includes Torquay United who have been relegated, promoted back to League Two and then relegated again.

The two teams promoted to League Two at the end of last season were Barnet and Bristol Rovers.  Barnet have been a bit of a yo-yo club while Bristol Rovers returned to the league just a season after being relegated.


Daily Betting Offers
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top