MLS Free Bets For New Customers

Now you may not consider the USA to be a hot-bed of football betting action, but with growing exposure of Major League Soccer (MLS) in the UK there are plenty of betting opportunities to be had. For a long time it has been derided as a sub standard league, where Americans scandalously refer to the beautiful game as soccer! However attitudes have slowly but surely started to turn around with the standard of football improving year on year. The impact of the likes of David Beckham (soon to have his own MLS club) and Wayne Rooney has increased the league's profile. Bookmakers now offer odds on all the games played in this league.

With the MLS league season continuing right through the summer months when the European leagues have ended, it provides a much needed compliment of fixtures at a time of more limited action. Here at we give you all the vital information about claiming your MLS free bets.

Our Top recommended Bookmakers for MLS Free Bets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

2019 MLS Season

There is a new addition to the Eastern Conference with FC Cincinnati joining the fray and taking the total number of MLS teams to 24. One of their main men will be recognisable to a number of English football fans as Emmanuel Ledesma has played for Middlesbrough, QPR, Walsall, Rotherham, Brighton and Brentford.

The MLS Cup champions Atlanta United have had a change at the top as Gerardo Martino did not renew his contract at the club despite his great success. They have gone for a high profile replacement and appointed former Ajax and Inter Milan boss Frank de Boer as manager. Atlanta have lost their star man, though, with Miguel Almiron signing for Premier League side Newcastle United for around £21m.

Columbus Crew and FC Dallas have also brought in new managers, with Caleb Porter and Luchi Gonzalez taking over respectively. There are a few more recognisable names in the MLS dugouts this season, with the likes of Brad Friedel, Remi Garde, Bob Bradley and Matias Almeyda taking charge of sides.

Wayne Rooney remains the captain of DC United after a thoroughly impressive debut season for the former Manchester United man. However, another ex-England player, Ashley Cole, has swapped Los Angeles for Derby this January.

The regular season runs from 2 March to 6 October 2019.

MLS competition format

The league is made up of 22 teams from the USA and Canada with the regular season running from March to 6 October. The league is divided in to Eastern and Western conferences, as is common place amongst American sports with each team playing 34 games.

These comprise of 23 matches against sides from within their own conference as well as 11 from the other. The team with the highest points total at the end is awarded the Supporters Shield but the real prize is the MLS Cup. The top seven sides from each conference go through to the play-offs where they compete for a place in the MLS Cup final. The current teams in each conference are as follows:

Eastern Conference MLS League

Eastern Conference Table - June 25.

  1. Philadelphia Union 31
  2. Montreal Impact 27
  3. DC United 27
  4. Atlanta United 26
  5. New York Red Bulls 24
  6. New York City 23
  7. Toronto FC 19
  8. Orlando City 18
  9. Chicago Fire 18
  10. Columbus Crew 17
  11. New England Revolution 16
  12. Cincinatti 11

Philadelphia Union have been thoroughly impressive so far this season in the Eastern Conference, out-scoring the rest of the division and topping the table at the half-way stage.

A strange quirk of the season is that the Union might be topping the table, but New York City FC are down in sixth having lost just one of their first 14 matches - eight draws costing them a higher position.

FC Cincinnati are really becoming cut adrift at the bottom, picking up just 11 points from their first 17 games, conceding 35 goals in the process. 

Western Conference MLS League

Western Conference Table - June 25

  1. Los Angeles FC 37
  2. LA Galaxy 31
  3. Seattle Sounders 26
  4. FC Dallas 25
  5. Houston Dynamo 24
  6. Minnesota United 21
  7. Real Salt Lake 20
  8. San Jose Earthquakes 19
  9. Sporting Kansas City 19
  10. Vancouver Whitecaps 19
  11. Colorado Rapids 17
  12. Portland Timbers 16

Los Angeles FC have been excellent in the Western Conference, thanks largely to the bucketload of goals scored by Carlos Vela, with Diego Rossi backing him up.

Vela has been sensational, topping the goal-scoring and assist-providing charts 16 games in.

MLS Top Scorers

Carlos Vela Los Angeles FC 16
Zlatan Ibrahimović LA Galaxy 11
Josef Martínez Atlanta United FC 10
Kei Kamara Colorado Rapids 8
Nani Orlando City SC 8
Wayne Rooney D.C. United 8
Diego Rossi Los Angeles FC 8
Chris Wondolowski San Jose Earthquakes 8

How to claim your MLS Free Bet

After deciding on your bookmaker or welcome offer of choice, simply click on of the many banners or links found on this page and sign-up for a new account. After registering, you may have to make a minimum deposit amount before then proceeding to make your first bet.

Once your first bet has been settled, you will be able to use your MLS free bet on a market of your choice related to the league.

Despite the growing popularity of the MLS, the available betting markets are not quite as extensive as with the big European leagues. For example the MLS is one of the few football leagues in the world that does not operate a promotion or relegation structure. Therefore the usually popular relegation market is unavailable and betting largely revolves around the winner of the MLS Cup and Supporters Shield and also the individual match markets.

What are the different MLS betting markets?

There are plenty of different betting markets available when placing wagers on the MLS

  • Match winner
  • Double chance
  • Goals Over/ Under
  • Both teams to score
  • Handicaps
  • Scorecasts
  • Overall Winner
  • Conference Winners

Betting on the MLS

Atlanta United won their first ever MLS Cup in 2018, just four years after being formed. A 2-0 victory over Portland Timbers in the final handed them the title on 8 December in front of 73,000 people at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta and they are now a force to be reckoned with in the US. They join San Jose Earthquakes as the only sides to have 100% records in MLS Cup finals.

2018 MLS season

New York Red Bulls claimed the Supporters Shield in 2018, picking up 71 points from their 34 games in the Eastern Conference. Atlanta United came second in the overall table, but obviously went on to do enough to win the MLS Cup.

Josef Martinez was the top scorer in the regular season, banging in 31 goals for Atlanta, then four more in the play-offs including the opener in the final. It was an incredible year for the Venezuelan who may again attract interest from European clubs having played previously for Young Boys and Torino.


Eastern Conference

  • Atlanta United
  • Chicago Fire
  • Columbus Crew
  • D.C United
  • FC Cinncinati 
  • Montreal Impact
  • New England Revolution
  • New York City FC
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Orlando City
  • Philadelphia Union
  • Toronto FC

Western Conference

  • Colorado Rapids
  • FC Dallas
  • Houston Dynamo
  • LA Galaxy
  • Los Angeles FC
  • Minnesota United
  • Portland Timbers
  • Real Salt Lake
  • San Jose Earthquakes
  • Seattle Sounders
  • Sporting Kansas City
  • Vancouver Whitecaps



Daily Betting Offers
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top