New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

Premier League Darts Free Bets

Whilst the World Darts Championship may be the jewel in the crown of PDC darts, the Premier League provides the organisation with it's bread and butter action on a weekly basis. Taking place from February to May each year, the competition provides weekly top quality darts action. With the popularity in darts ever increasing and many leading bookmakers sponsoring events, betting on darts is big business and punters can't get enough of the Premier League! The title has been won for the past three seasons by world number one Michael van Gerwen.

Our top bookmakers for Premier League Darts Sign-Up Offers
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

£20 Free Bets Coral

Premier League Darts Betting Markets

As we previously mentioned, betting on darts is seriously popular nowadays and with 16 weeks of action and up to five games taking place every Thursday night there is an abundance of options to use your Premier League darts free bet on. If you wanted to go down the route of betting on the individual matches, there are a host of markets including the match winner, the total number of 180's scored and the total number of legs in the game.

Given the nature of a sporting tournament, the Premier League of darts is no different in the respect it allows for a number of options based on the overall competition. The most obvious of which is the outright tournament winner, whilst other popular markets include:

  • Van Gerwen v The field
  • Highest check-out
  • Total nine dart finishes
  • 170 check-out
  • Winning nationality
  • To reach the final/semi-final
  • Not to reach the final/semi-final
  • First time winner

Using your Premier League Darts Free Bets

Once you're equipped with your free bet amount and you've decided exactly which market you want to bet on, your probably going to want some guidance in where to use it. Well luckily enough, that what we're here for and we'll start things off with the outright winner market. Well the tournament itself has been won by just five different men since its inception in 2005. Phil 'The Power' Taylor is regarded as the greatest darts player of all time and he has won the tournament on six occasions. However Michael van Gerwen is undisputedly the best in the business right now and has two titles to his name and he goes in to pretty much every tournament as the bookies' favourite.

The total number of 180's is another popular market and Gary Anderson is a good option for that one. He holds the Premier League record for the most 180's in a single match with 11 against Simon Whitlock in 2011.

2019 Premier League

The players taking part in this year's Premier League are:

  1. Michael van Gerwen
  2. Rob Cross
  3. Peter Wright
  4. Daryl Gurney
  5. Michael Smith
  6. Gerwyn Price
  7. James Wade
  8. Mensur Soljovic
  9. Raymond van Barneveld

Gary Anderson was due to play but the former world champion has had to withdraw with a back injury. Rather than choosing one replacement, the PDC have announced niine 'contenders' to play at each of the weekly events. They will not be able to earn league points but players beating them will. The idea is to give the players an opportunity to develop their career at major darts events. 

The nine 'contenders' are:

  1. Chris Dobey
  2. Glen Durrant (reigning BDO World Darts Champion)
  3. Steve Lennon
  4. Luke Humphries
  5. John Henderson
  6. Nathan Aspinall
  7. Max Hopp
  8. Dimitri Van den Bergh
  9. Jeffrey de Zwaan


Final League Table after May 16 matches

  1. Michael van Gerwen 23
  2. Rob Cross 22
  3. James Wade 20
  4. Daryl Gurney 19
  5. Gerwyn Price 18
  6. Mensur Soljovic 17
  7. Michael Smith 10
  8. Peter Wright 9 
  9. Raymond van Barnefeld 4 (elminated)

Top four qualify for the play-offs that are being held at The 02 in London on May 23.


Play Off Semi-Finals (Best of 19 legs)

Rob Cross 10 James Wade 5

Michael van Gerwen 10 Daryl Gurney 7

Play Off Final

Michael van Gerwen 11 Rob Cross 5


Premier League Darts History

The Premier League was formed in 2005, initially taking place every fortnight with seven competitors. The early days were dominated by Phil Taylor and The Power was triumphant in each of the first four competitions. He in-fact went a staggering 44 games without defeat in the competition between 2005 and 2008, when he eventually lost to James Wade in the first match of that season. 

In 2007 it was expanded to eight players before it grew to it's current number of ten in 2013 and now sees the players compete in a double round-robin format. After week nine of action, the two players at the bottom of the table are eliminated before the remaining eight players then play each other again for a second time. The top four in the table will then progress to the play-off stage that take place at London's 02 Arena, to determine the champion.

The rest of the venues change year on year though the likes of the Manchester Arena and the First Direct Arena in Leeds are semi-permanent in fixtures. The 2016 season saw action held in Rotterdam's Ahoy Arena as Premier League darts went to mainland Europe for the first time whilst the 3arena in Dublin has also played host.

Previous Winners

  • 2019 - Michael van Gerwen
  • 2018 - Michael van Gerwen
  • 2017-  Michael van Gerwen
  • 2016-  Michael van Gerwen
  • 2015-  Gary Anderson
  • 2014-  Raymond van Barneveld
  • 2013 - Michael van Gerwen
  • 2012 - Phil Taylor
  • 2011 - Gary Anderson
  • 2010 - Phil Taylor
  • 2009 - James Wade
Back to Top