New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

The 2020 Oaks Free Bets

The Oaks is a Group One flat race traditionally held at Epsom in June and is the third classic of the season. It is traditionally held the day before the Derby and is raced over a distance of one mile, four furlongs and 10 yards. The race is contested by three year-old fillies and was first held in 1779, a year before the Derby began.

Our top recommended bookmakers for Free Bets on The Oaks
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

Using Your Free Bet

There are plenty of ways in which you can use free bets on The Oaks and these include:

  • The Winner
  • Winning Jockey
  • Winning Trainer
  • Nationality of the Trainer
  • Winning Distance

The 2020 Oaks

The 2020 Oaks took place on Saturday July 4 at Epsom behind closed doors. It was run on the same day as the Derby.  The race was won by Love trained by Aidan O'Brien and completing the 1000 Guineas and Oaks double, the first filly to do so since Minding in 2016.  Here's the top five finishers

1st Love - 11/10F - Trained by Aidan O'Brien and ridden by Ryan Moore

2nd Ennistymon - 6/1 - Aidan O'Brien (trainer), Seannie Heffernan (jockey)

3rd Frankly Darling - 7/4 - John Gosden (trainer), Frankie Dettori (jockey)

4th Queen Daenerys - 16/1 - Roger Varian (trainer), William Buick (jockey)

5th Passion - 25/1 - Aidan O'Brien (trainer),  P B Beggy (jockey)

6th Bharani Satar - 50/1 - Peter Chapple-Hyam (trainer), Oisin Murphy (jockey).

 Love had a clear win in the 1000 Guineas and it was more of the same at Epsom. The filly won by nine lengths and looks a possibility to go for the St Leger later in the season in a bid to win the triple crown. The success was the eighth time O'Brien has trained the winner of the Oaks. He has a fair way to go to equal the record of 13 winners held by Robert Robson between 1802 and 1825.

 The 2019 Oaks

The 2019 Oaks took place on Friday 31 May. This is a race that is run over a mile and a half, the same distance as the Derby and only fillies aged three can take part. The Oaks is the third leg of the fillies Triple Crown which is preceded by the 1,000 Guineas at Newmarket over one mile in May and is completed by the St Leger over one mile six furlongs at Doncaster in September.


  1. Anapurna - John Gosden (trainer), Frankie Dettori (jockey) 8/1
  2. Pink Dogwood - Aiden O'Brien, Ryan Moore 3/1
  3. Fleeting - Aiden O'Brien, Wayne Lordan 25/1
  4. Manuela De Vega - Ralph Beckett, Harry Bentley 16/1

Mehdaayih was the 11/4 favourite and finished seventh.

The History of The Oaks

The Oaks was named after an estate which is to the east of Epsom and leased to the 12th Earl of Derby in the 18th century. The idea for the race came during a party held on the estate in 1778 and first took place the following year with Bridget winning the race. The filly was owned by Lord Derby. Since 1892 all horses taking part in the race carry 9 stones. The race has always been held at Epsom apart from during the two World Wars in the 20th century when it was held at Newmarket.

The Oaks Trends

Three outright favourite have won the race since 2006.

The last 10 winners had run once or twice during the season.

All the winners had run in the previous five weeks.

Every winner in the last decade had won over at least one mile.

All but one winner had raced between 2 and 5 times inclusive.

Nine of 10 winners were first or second in an Oaks trial.

Other than Aidan O’ Brien’s three winners the others since 2008 were trained in Britain.

Famous Winners


Some of the greatest filies have won the Oaks. These include

  • Diminuendo
  • Oh So Sharp
  • Dunfermline
  • Musidora

Last Ten Winners of the Oaks

2020 - Love - Ryan Moore (jockey), Aidan O'Brien (trainer) - 11/10F

2019 - Anapurna - Frankie Dettori (jockey), John Gosden (trainer) 8/1

2018 - Forever Together, Donaccha O'Brien, Aidan O'Brien 7/1

2017 - Enable, Frankie Dettori, John Gosden, 6/1

2016 - Minding, Ryan Moore. Aidan O'Brien, 10/11F

2015 - Qualify, Colm O’Donoghue, Aidan O’Brien, 50/1

2014 - Taghrooda, Paul Hanagan, John Gosden, 5/1

2013 - Talent, Richard Hughes, Ralph Beckett, 20/1

2012 - Was, Seamie Hefferman, Aidan O’Brien, 20/1

2011 - Dancing Rain, Johnny Murtagh, William Haggas, 20/1



Frank Buckle won the Oaks nine times between 1797 and 1823. His winners included Bellina and Zinc. Lester Pigott won the race on six occasions between 1957 and 1984.  The last jockey to win the race in successive years was Frankie Dettori in 1994 and 1995.


The 4th Duke of Grafton won the race six times in the 1800s.


Robert Robson trained 13 horses to victory between 1802 and 1825

Back to Top