Snooker World Cup Free bets

While the World Snooker Championship continues to be the biggest event on the calendar, team events have really struggled in recent years. The World Doubles Championship ended in 1987 and the World Cup hasn't been staged since 2011.  Now the World Cup is back and will take place in Wuxi in China between June 15 and 21.  China will be defending the trophy they won four years ago.

The 2015 Snooker World Cup

24 teams will be taking part and they have been split into four groups of six teams with the top two qualifying for the quarter finals. As defending champions and hosts, China have been allowed to have an 'A' team and a 'B' team.

Our top recommended bookmakers for Snooker World Cup Free Bets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

How to Use Your Free Bet

There will be several ways in which you can use your Free Bet in the Snooker World Cup. These include:

  • To win the tournament
  • To win the group
  • To qualify for the group
  • winner of each match
  • Betting on each frame


Group A

  • China 'A'  - Ding Junhui and Xiao Goudong
  • Norway -    Kurt and Anita Maflin
  • Singapore - Marvin Lim Chun Kiatt and KK Chan
  • India -  Aditya Mehta and Pankaj Advani
  • Malta - Tony Drago and Alex Borg
  • Austria - Andreas Ploner and Paul Schop

Group B

  • Hong Kong - Marco Fu and Au Chi Wai
  • Scotland - John Higgins and Stephen Maguire
  • Iran - Hossein Vafaei Ayouri and Ehsan Heydari Nezhad
  • Malaysia - Thor Chuan Leong and Mohd Reza Hassan
  • Brazil - Igor Figueredo and Haro Santos
  • Belgium - Luca Brecel and Thomas Skalski

Group C

  • Australia - Neil Robertson and Vinnie Calabrese
  • Wales - Mark Williams and Matthew White
  • Pakistan - Hamza Akbar and Muhammad Saljad
  • Qatar - Ahmed Saif and Ali Alobaidaly
  • Poland - Mateusz Baranowski and Adam Stefanow
  • Northern Ireland - Gerard Greene and Joe Swail

Group D

  • England -  Mark Selby and Stuart Bingham
  • Ireland - Ken Doherty and Fergal O'Brien
  • China 'B' - Zhou Yeulong and Yan Bintao
  • Thailand - Dechawat Poomjaeng and Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
  • United Arab Emirates - Khalid Alkamali and Mohammad Shabab
  • Germany - Lukas Kleckers and Felix Frede


Matches are played over the best of five frames

Frame 1 - Player 1 v Player 1

Frame 2 - Player 2 v Player 2

Frame 3- Doubles with each alternative turns

Frame 4 - Reverse Singles - Player 1 v Player 2

Frame 5 - Reverse Singles - Player 2 v Player 1

Quarter Finals

QF1:  Winner Group A v Runner-up Group B

QF2:  Winner Group B v Runner-up Group A

QF3:  Winner Group C v Runner-up Group D

QF4:  Winner Group D v Runner-up Group C

Quarter Finals matches will be played over the best of seven frames.  It's the same as in the group stages for the first five frames with frame six being another doubles match. If the score is 3-3 then the final frame will be a singles match between players nominated by the team captain. The format for the semi-finals and final will be the same as for the quarter final matches.

Snooker World Cup History

The tournament was first held in Birmingham in 1979 under the name 'The World Challenge Cup' with just six teams taking part - England, Northern Ireland, Wales, Canada, Australia and a Rest of the World team.  The first world champions were the Welsh team of Ray Reardon, Terry Griffiths (who was the reigning world champion) and Doug Mountjoy.

The following year the tournament moved to the New London Theatre in London, best known for staging the musical 'Cats.'  Wales again won the title again using Reardon, Griffiths and Mountjoy. The Northern Ireland team became an All-Ireland team for this tournament.  In 1981 the title was changed to the World Team Classic and moved to the Hexagon Theatre in Reading with Scotland taking part for the first time.

In 1985 the tournament finally became known as the Snooker World Cup and moved to Bournemouth. Eight teams took part with England having two teams. This ran until 1990 when Canada won the title for the first time since 1982. It was also the last World Cup to be held in England.  There were no more World Cups until 1996 when Scotland won the World Cup (not a sentence you read that often) in Thailand. Twenty teams took part that year but there wasn't to be another tournament until 2011 when China won the trophy beating Northern Ireland in the final with the tournament again held in Thailand. Now it returns in June 2015 with a record 24 teams (23 different countries and a China 'B' team).

Previous World Cup Winners

  • 2011  China
  • 1996  Scotland
  • 1990  Canada
  • 1989  England
  • 1988  England
  • 1987  Ireland 'A'
  • 1986  Ireland 'A'
  • 1985  Ireland
  • 1983  England
  • 1982  Canada
  • 1981  England
  • 1989  Wales
  • 1979  Wales
Daily Betting Offers
Open Account Offer

Up to £100 in Bet Credits for New Customers at bet365 Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. 18+, Time limits and T&Cs apply.

Search Our Website
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top