The Championship Free Bets & Sign-Up Offers

While people love saying that the Premier League is the best league in the world, many will say that The Championship is the hardest league in the world to win. It's a division that has a profitable prize for the three teams who can win promotion to the Premier League with riches aplenty awaiting the following season. 

With each team playing 46 fixtures throughout the season and the excitement that comes with the play-offs, there is plenty of action to bet on in The Championship.

Our top recommended bookmakers for The Championship
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

Latest Championship Betting News

Villa to Face Fulham in Play-off Final

Fulham had to come from behind to clinch a place in the Championship Play-off final against Aston Villa. The Londoners lost the first leg of their semi-final 1-0 away at Derby County, their second straight defeat after going all year unbeaten in the league. Fulham bounced back though to win the home second leg 2-0.

The other semi-final was a tense affair but it was Aston Villa who made it to the final. They won the away leg at Middlesbrough 1-0 and then drew at Villa Park 0-0 to get their chance of regaining their place in the Premier League.

Wolves Promoted as Champions but Disaster for Sunderland

A final day defeat at of all places Sunderland, cost Wolves the chance to get to 100 points, but the title had already been won and they ended the season nine points clear of second-placed Cardiff. The big spending side had been in control of the Championship for virtually all of the season losing just seven league games, five of them on their travels.

The chase for the second promotion spot was a lot closer going down to the final day. Cardiff City ended up clinching a return to the Premier League despite being held to a draw by Reading. Fulham, who hadn't lost a league game all year, went down in defeat at Birmingham City leaving Cardiff promoted. The four play-off places went to Fulham who take on Derby County and Middlesbrough are up against Aston Vila.

Down at the bottom of the table, Sunderland may have beaten Wolves on the final day of the season but had already been condemned to their second straight relegation. They were joined by Barnsley and Burton Albion thanks to a great escape by Bolton Wanderers. They looked doomed in the dying moments of their home game against Nottingham Forest as they trailed 2-1 but goals in the 87th and 88th minutes saw them win 3-2 ensuring safety and breaking Barnsley's hearts.

The Championship 2017-18 


24 teams take part in the Championship, 18 of which played in the division last season and are joined by the three teams relegated from the Premier League, all desperate to bounce back right away and three ambitious teams promoted from League One last season. The 24 teams and their finishing places last season are:

  1. Aston Villa - 13th
  2. Barnsley - 14th
  3. Birmingham City - 19th
  4. Bolton Wanderers - 2nd in League One
  5. Brentford - 10th
  6. Bristol City - 17th
  7. Burton Albion - 20th
  8. Cardiff City - 12th
  9. Derby County - 9th
  10. Fulham - 6th
  11. Hull City - 18th in the Premier League
  12. Ipswich Town - 16th
  13. Leeds United  - 7th
  14. Middlesbrough - 19th in the Premier League
  15. Millwall - 6th in League One and Play-off winners
  16. Norwich City - 8th
  17. Nottingham Forest - 21st
  18. Preston North End - 11th
  19. QPR - 18th
  20. Reading - 3rd
  21. Sheffield United - 1st in League One
  22. Sheffield Wednesday - 4th
  23. Sunderland - 20th in the Premier League
  24. Wolverhampton Wanderers - 15th

How to Use Your Championship Free Bet

There are plenty of opportunities to use a Free Bet on the Championship whatever the time of the year.

  • League Winners
  • Who will get promoted
  • Who will make the play-offs
  • Who'll be relegated to League One
  • Match bets between teams
  • Top goalscorer in the league and for each side
  • Handicap betting
  • Top Northern Club
  • Top Southern Club
  • League positions at certain stages of the season
  • Betting on every game played during the season

There's always odds of some kind being offered on the Championship. Every game played will have some influence on the odds that are given by bookmakers. It's a good idea therefore to keep an eye on the odds given for the Championship after every set of games are played. It could just result in you finding some odds that will give that free bet of yours a good profit.

Ante post betting is always available on the Championship. There may be no games being played but that doesn't mean there's going to be any changes in the odds being offered. The transfer window always has a big influence on the following season, so make sure you know who's signing who. This can work in two ways of course.

Some teams will be signing players left, right and centre as they try to build a team that can win promotion to the Premier League. A bet on those sides could result in a win at a price that will be a lot shorter in the months ahead.  On the other hand there are always some teams who are having problems and seeing top players join other clubs. Keep note of that and take a look at the relegation market for those teams who could be facing a drop down a division.

History of The Championship

It's full title is the Football League Championship but we know it better simply as The Championship and is currently sponsored by Skybet. Previously known as the First Division, while older football fans will know it as The Second Division. Its current name has been in existence since the 2004-05 season and previous winners are:

  • 2016-17: Newcastle United
  • 2015-16: Burnley
  • 2014-15: Bournemouth
  • 2013-14: Leicester City
  • 2012-13: Cardiff City
  • 2011-12: Reading
  • 2010-11: QPR
  • 2009-10: Newcastle United
  • 2008-09: Wolverhampton Wanderers
  • 2007-08: WBA
  • 2006-07: Sunderland
  • 2005-06: Reading
  • 2004-05: Sunderland

The Play-Offs

Finishing third in the Championship doesn't mean you automatically claim the third promotion spot. The teams placed third to sixth take part in the play-offs with two semi-finals (third v sixth and fourth v fifth) with the final being held at Wembley.  There have been 13 play-offs with the team finishing third in the table winning on six occasions, the fourth placed side being promoted twice, the team finishing fifth winning three times and the side down in sixth place winning twice.

Previous Winners are:

  • 2016-17: Huddersfield Town (5th)
  • 2015-16:  Hull City (4th)
  • 2014-15:  Norwich City (3rd)
  • 2013-14:  QPR (4th)
  • 2012-13:  Crystal Palace (5th)
  • 2011-12:  West Ham United (3rd)
  • 2010-11:  Swansea City (3rd)
  • 2009-10:  Blackpool (6th)
  • 2008-09:  Burnley (5th)
  • 2007-08:  Hull City (3rd) 
  • 2006-07:  Derby County (3rd)
  • 2005-06:  Watford (3rd)
  • 2004-05:  West Ham United (6th) 
Daily Betting Offers
Open Account Offer

Up to £100 in Bet Credits for New Customers at bet365 Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. 18+, Time limits and T&Cs apply.

Money back as a free bet if your first World Cup Same Game Multi bet loses

Offer applies for UK and Ireland residents on their first bet placed on the World Cup. Place a multi-bet on 2018 World Cup and if it loses, stake is refunded as free bet up to £/€10.

The Championship Previews
Search Our Website
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top