New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

Australian Open Free Bets & Offers

The first tennis Grand Slam of the season takes place early on in the year with the winner of the Australian Open being crowned at the end of January. The tournament dates all the way back to 1905 when it was a grass court event and it remained that way right the way until 1987 when it switched to the hard court surface. 

Our top recommended bookmakers for Australian Open Free Bets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

What should I use my free Australian Open bet on?

Unsurprisingly all of the talk in the betting in the build-up to the tournament will be over who will be crowned the men’s and ladies’ singles champions come the end of the fortnight.  With just a very few players that are likely to win the tournament the odds are always pretty short for the top three men and women. There has even been the occasional odds-on player before a ball has even been struck at Melbourne Park. 

The individual matches are also popular markets but if you thought the odds were skinny in the outright market then you will be shocked by the prices for the one-on-one clashes. If you fancy backing one of the big names in the early rounds then you could be looking at 1/100 and it will take a fairly lengthy accumulator before it becomes profitable.

As ever in the Grand Slams nowadays there are a handful of players who will most likely be competing for the trophy whilst the rest of the field will be hoping for a decent draw and a run of good luck. In the men’s draw, the strong contenders, if fit, will be Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (winner for the past two years) Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal with the rest of the top 10 fighting it out for the scraps from their table.

In the women’s draw, every Grand Slam in recent years has seen Serena Williams go in as the strong favourite and it is likely to be the same yet again in Melbourne although Angelique Kerber and Simona Haelp are likely to provide strong challenges.

2019 Australian Open

The 2019 Australian Open took place between January 14 and 27.

Men's Singles - Novak Djokovic won the title beating Rafael Nadal in the final.

Women's Singles - Naomi Osaka made it two Grand Slam titles in a row beating Petra Kvitova in the final.

Men's Doubles - Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicholas Mahut beat Henri Kontinen and John Peers.

Women's Doubles - Samantha Stosur and Zhang Shuai defeated Timea Babos and Kriistina Mladenovic

Mixed Doubles - Barbora Krejcikova and Rajeev Ram beat Astra Sharma and John-Patrick Smith

How to claim your Australian Open free bet

The Australian Open is one of the standout events on the sporting calendar and every single bookmaker worth their salt on the planet will be offering a range of odds on it. Simply choose the bookie you like the look of, click on the link to their site on the right hand side of this page and head over to their homepage.

Once there you simply need to sign up for an account which is a straight forward process which the bookmaker will take you through. Find tennis in the sportsbook and the Australian Open will be a prominent market. Click on the odds you want to back and this will transfer it to the betting slip; you will then be able to cash in your free bet.

£30 Free Bets Betfred
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

Two weeks of the finest tennis action takes place at Melbourne Park on the famous Plexicushion surface and the best players in the world will compete for the AUS30,000,000 prize pot, AUS2,430,000 of which is claimed by the winners of the singles events.

The Australian Open is the first Grand Slam event to be held each year in January. The inaugural tournament took place in 1905 when it was contested on the grass courts of Kooyong. Due to the enormous amount of time it took for the top tennis players in the world to travel to Australia, the event virtually faded out into obscurity.

With the advent of air travel, the tournament was revived and in 1988 it moved to a hard court base, called Flinders Park – now better known as Melbourne Park. The tournament grew in popularity with the likes of Agassi, Wilander and Lendl fighting it out for the Norman Brookes Trophy . It became a truly ‘Grand Slam’ event, and has been consistently supported by the very best in world tennis.

The two main venues of the event, the Rod Laver Arena and the Vodafone Arena, have retractable roofs, so that play is not stopped due to rain, or more often than not, spiking temperatures of 35 degrees centigrade, or more, which is typical of the Australian summer! The 2008 tournament saw a new surface for the courts, with the Rebound Ace surface being replaced with a faster, acrylic “Plexicushion” surface.

In 2007, Tennis Australia, which manages the event, introduced new technology for line calling at the Rod Laver Arena, making history at the Australian Open tennis tournament. The Hawk-eye system was used as a back-up to human linesman. Players were allowed to challenge a human line call by having Hawk-eye confirm or overrule the original call.

£20 Free Bets Coral
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

This meant that both players and spectators could view instant replays on the video screen installed inside the arena – leaving no room for error. There was a notable outcry when Amelie Mauresmo challenged the ‘in’ call on her opponent’s shot and the Hawk-eye replay showed the ball out graphically, but called the ball ‘in’!

Also making history, 2007 also saw an increase in the security at the Australian Open tennis tournament. With over 554 000 fans, the organisers had to face a mini-crisis when about 150 Serb and Croat fans started a brawl in Melbourne Park. Over 20 policemen were called in to control the riot and thereafter no spectator wearing Croatian or Serbian colours were allowed to attend.

Who are the movers and shakers in the Australian Open?

Unsurprisingly the Aussies dominated their own championship in the early days before the Americans and Europeans got involved. Because of Australia's geographic remoteness, very few foreign players entered this tournament. Consider this; in the 1920s, the trip by ship from Europe to Australia took about 45 days! The first players who bothered to make the treck by boats were the US Davis Cup players in November 1946.

Even inside the country, many players could not travel easily. When the tournament was held in Perth, no one from Victoria or New South Wales crossed by train, a distance of about (1,900 mi between the east and west coasts. In Christchurch in 1906, of a small field of 10 players, only two Australians attended, and the tournament was won by a New Zealander.

In the modern era, though, all of tennis' big names have taken part and won including Boris Becker, Andre Agassi, Pete Samprass, Roger Federer, Serena Williams, Steffi Graff and Monica Seles.

Current men's champion is Roger Federer Cwho has won this title for the past two years. The women's title holder is Carolina Wozniacki who defeated Simona Halep in the final.

Who are the most recent Australian Open winners?

Men's Singles

  • 2018 - Roger Federer beat Marin Cilic
  • 2017 - Roger Federer beat Rafael Nadal
  • 2016 - Novak Djokovic beat Andy Murray
  • 2015 - Novak Djokovic beat Andy Murray
  • 2014 - Stan Wawrinka beat Rafael Nadal
  • 2013 - Novak Djokovic beat Andy Murray

Women's Singles

  • 2018 - Caroline Wozniacki beat Simona Halep
  • 2017 - Serena Williams beat Venus Williams
  • 2016 - Angelique Kerber beat Serena Williams
  • 2015 - Serena Williams beat Maria Sharapova
  • 2014 - Li Na beat Dominka Cibulkova
  • 2013 - Victoria Azarenka beat Li Na
Back to Top