UEFA Under-21 Championship Free Bets

Arriving every two years since 2007 (but dating back to 1978), the UEFA Under-21 Championship provides football action through the barren summer months. The tournament sees twelve sides from across Europe compete and there is plenty of top young talent on show. In the past the likes of Luis Figo, Andrea Pirlo and Juan Mata have all shone in this competition before going on to enjoy top class careers. So with the stars of the future on show, the UEFA Under-21 Championship should help to fill the void of no domestic football in June and give punters an opportunity to use their football free bets.

Our top recommended bookmakers for UEFA Under-21 Football Championships Free bets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

How to Use Your Free Bet

With the UEFA Under-21 Championship coming in the years that the senior tournament runs, the competition provides an opportunity to have a bet on an international football tournament at a time of little other football markets. Betting on the UEFA Under-21 Championship will largely feature many of the familiar markets found in football tournaments. These include:

  • Tournament Winner
  • Dual Forecast
  • Group Winners
  • Individual match betting
  • Top goalscorer 

2019 UEFA Under-21 Championship

The tournament goes to Italy and San Marino in 2019, with the matches being played in Bologna, Reggio, Cesena, Trieste, Udine and Serravalle in San Marino.

England went into the tournament as one of the favourites to lift the trophy but endured a nightmare start to the event and crashed out at the group stage. A last-minute defeat to France was a morale-sapping opening, but a shock loss to Romania followed and dumped Aidy Boothroyd's side out  of the competition after just two matches.

It was great news for the other favourites in the tournament who have certainly not been struggling in the group stages. Germany and Spain are the first two teams to book their spots in the semi-finals and they remain the shortest odds to become European champions, as they were before a ball was kicked.

Group A: Italy, Spain, Poland, Belgium

16 June: Poland 3-2 Belgium
16 June: Italy 3-1 Spain
19 June: Spain 2-1 Belgium
19 June: Italy 0-1 Poland
22 June: Belgium 1-3 Italy
22 June Spain 5-0 Poland

Group B: Germany, Denmark, Serbia, Austria

17 June: Serbia 0-2 Austria
17 June: Germany 3-1 Denmark
20 June: Denmark 3-1 Austria
20 June: Germany 6-1 Serbia
23 June: Austria 1-1 Germany
23 June: Denmark 2-0 Serbia

Group C: England, France, Romania, Croatia

18 June: Romania 4-1 Croatia
18 June: England 1-2 France
21 June: England 2-4 Romania
21 June: France 1-0 Croatia
24 June: Croatia 3 England 3
24 June: France 0 Romania 0


June 27 - France v Spain

June 27 - Germany v Romania

Final takes place on June 30.

Top Goal Scorers

Luca Waldschmidt - Germany - 5
Marco Richter - Germany - 3
Federico Chiesa - Italy - 3

UEFA Under-21 Championship History

The tournament has existed in its current form since 1978 and was preceded by the Under-23 Championship.  There have been a number of formats and it wasn't until 1994 that the tournament finals had a host country. Since 2007 it has been played on a bi-annual schedule with qualifying groups and then play-off matches to decide the eight finalists.

Italy have been the most successful side in the competition's history with five victories and more often than not, the Azzurri will be amongst the favourites. Their last conquest was in 2004 however so whilst they have been impressive historically, in recent years they have not been quite the force of the past. After the Italians, Spain are the next most successful side with four titles to their name. Again this is hardly surprising given the strength of Spanish football in recent years and they won back-to-back titles in 2011 and 2013 during the period that their senior team dominated on the world stage.

And England? Well actually the Young Lions have two titles in this competition with victories in 1982 and 1984. Under the tutelage of Stuart Pearce, England also made the final in 2009 but were hammered 4-0 by Germany in the final. That Germany team featured the likes of Manuel Neuer, Mats Hummels and Mesut Ozil, who would on go on to be key members of the senior team's World Cup success in 2014. That victory was the first time the Germans won the tournament, but it was not the last as they went on to win it again in 2017, beating Spain in the final.

The next two tournaments coming up are being held in Italy and San Marino (2019) and Hungary and Slovenia (2021).

Previous Winners

  • 2017 Germany
  • 2015 Sweden
  • 2013 Spain
  • 2011 Spain
  • 2009 Germany
  • 2007 Netherlands
  • 2006 Netherlands
  • 2004 Italy
  • 2002 Czech Republic
Daily Betting Offers
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top