New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.


2020 MotoGP season

The new season gets underway on 8 March with the Qatar Grand Prix.

Round Date Grand Prix Circuit
1 8 March Qatar Grand Prix Losail International Circuit, Lusail
2 22 March Thailand Grand Prix Chang International Circuit, Buriram
3 5 April Grand Prix of The Americas Circuit of the Americas, Austin
4 19 April Gran Premio de la República Argentina Autódromo Termas de Río Hondo, Termas de Rio Hondo
5 3 May Gran Premio de España Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto, Jerez de la Frontera
6 17 May Grand Prix de France Circuit Bugatti, Le Mans
7 31 May Gran Premio d'Italia Mugello Circuit, Scarperia e San Piero
8 7 June Gran Premi de Catalunya Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló
9 21 June Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland Sachsenring, Hohenstein-Ernstthal
10 28 June TT Assen TT Circuit Assen, Assen
11 12 July Finnish Grand Prix Kymi Ring, Iitti
12 9 August Grand Prix ÄŒeské republiky Automotodrom Brno, Brno
13 16 August Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
14 30 August British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
15 13 September Gran Premio di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, Misano Adriatico
16 4 October Gran Premio de Aragon Motorland Aragón, Alcañiz
17 18 October Grand Prix of Japan Twin Ring Motegi, Motegi
18 25 October Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Ventnor
19 1 November Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix Sepang International Circuit, Sepang
20 15 November Gran Premio de la Comunitat Valenciana Circuit Ricardo Tormo, Valencia

2019 MotoGP season

The season kicked off on 10 March with the Qatar Grand Prix and came to a close with the 19th and final race, the Valencia Grand Prix on 17 November.

The defending champion, Marc Marquez, has continued his dominance of the sport and the Honda driver secured his sixth world title, winning 12 races and breaking the single-season points and podium records with 420 points and 18 podium finishes from 19 races.

The Spaniard suffered a disappointing retirement at the American Grand Prix, but otherwise has finished in the top two in every single race this year, finishing the season in style by winning the Valencian Grand Prix.

It has been supreme racing from the 26-year-old who has won a fourth world title on the spin and largely looked unstoppable.

Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso has taken second and has won two races this year on his Ducati, while Maverick Vinales in third and Alex Rins in fourth have also topped the podium twice.

Britain's Cal Crutchlow plugged away in the midfield again on his Honda, with a best finish so far of second in Australia, but two retirements in the last two races saw him finish ninth.

Final Standings

  1. Marc Márquez Honda 420
  2. Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 269
  3. Maverick Vinales Yamaha 211
  4. Alex Rins Suzuki 205
  5. Fabio Quartararo Yamaha 192
  6. Danilo Petrucci Ducati 176
  7. Valentino Rossi Yamaha 174
  8. Jack Miller Ducati 165
  9. Cal Crutchlow Honda 133
  10. Franco Morbidelli Yamaha 115
  11. Pol Espargaro KTM 100
  12. Joan Mir Suzuki 92
  13. Takaaki Nakagami Honda 74
  14. Aleix Espargaró Aprilia 53
  15. Francesco Bagnaia Ducati 54
  16. Andrea Iannone Aprilla 43
  17. Miguel Oliveira KTM 33
  18. Johann Zarco KTM 30
  19. Jorge Lorenzo Honda 28
  20. Tito Rabat Ducati 23
  21. Stefan Bradl Honda 16
  22. Michele Pirro Ducati 9
  23. Hafizh Syahrin KTM 9
  24. Karel Abraham Ducati 9
  25. Sylvain Guintoli Suzuki 7
  26. Mika Kallio KTM 7
  27. Bradley Smith Aprilia 0

Marquez's dominance saw Honda finish top of the Manufacturer's Standings, despite their next best finisher being Crutchlow in ninth.

Yamaha pipped Ducati to second thanks to Vinales winning the penultimate race of the season in Malaysia and Quartero grabbing second in Valencia.

Manufacturer's Final Standings

  1. Honda 426
  2. Yamaha 321
  3. Ducati 318
  4. Suzuki 234
  5. KTM 111
  6. Aprilla 88


Our Top recommended Bookmakers for MotoGP
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly


 Betting markets available for MotoGP are limited at just 

  • Race winner
  • Championship winner 

History of MotoGP.

The Beginnings.

In the early days there were four classes, 350cc being the additional category although throughout history there has also been, at times, classes for 50cc and 80cc engines. The success of British built motorcycles was fairly short lived with the Italians leading the way through the majority of the 1950s until the arrival of the Japanese in the early 1960s when we saw domination by legendary Mike Hailwood aboard the 6 cylinder Honda in the 250cc and 350cc classes. However the Italians still led the way in the prestigious 500cc class with the MV Agusta 500-3 from 1966 to 1972 ridden by Mike Hailwood and Giacomo Agostini and then the MV Agusta 500-4 in 1973 and 1974.

Significant changes.

It all changed for the Japanese in 1969 when the FIM ruled that gearboxes were limited to six gears, 350 and 500s to four cylinders and all others to to two. This led to Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha staging a mass walk-out with Suzuki and Yamaha not returning until 1973. However, with their return they brought with them their 2 stroke weapons which eventually the Italians had no answer for. Despite the handling problems and the fact that the sheer power shredded tyres, the Japanese ruled the roost from 1975 onwards being ridden by more great names such as Barry Sheene, Kenny Roberts, Wayne Rainey and Mick Doohan. Honda returned to the scene some years later in 1979, firstly with their 4 stroke NR500 which proved to be unsuccessful, but by 1983 were winning with a 2 stroke 500. Finally, for the 2 strokes, in 2001 a certain Valentino Rossi won his first 500cc World Championship before winning a further 6 MotoGP's between the years 2002 and 2009. Major changes since 2009 has seen engine capacities increase to 800cc in 2009 and then to 1000cc in 2012.

Back to Top