The Open 2018 Offers & Free Bets

Steeped in presitge and tradition, the Open is the oldest of golf’s four major championships and the only one to be played outside the USA. It is the tournament that all amateurs and professionals aspire to and the Claret Jug is the most instantly recognisable prize in golf. For the first time this year's event will be broadcast live on Sky Sports so expect a host of added interest as a result of what is sure to be comprehensive coverage.

Our top recommended bookmakers for the Open Championship free bets:
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly


What are the best Open Championship free bets?

If you are a punter looking to use your free bet on The Open then there are plenty of markets for you to contemplate. The Outright Winner market is the most popular and allows punters to predict which player will lift the Claret Jug in July.

Nick Faldo was the last Englishman to be victorious at The Open as he came home in front in 1992 at Muirfield, while Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy was the latest Briton to claim the title with his victory at Royal Liverpool in 2014.

Patriotic punters can choose to use their Open Championship free bets to back the nationality of the winner. If you think it’s about time an Englishman won a Claret Jug, but can’t decide whether it will be Tommy Fleetwood or Justin Rose, then it may be more sensible to bet on England in the Winning Nationality market.

If you think the Americans will continue their incredible success in the competition then back the US, or perhaps it is the South Africans you fancy seen as they have claimed three titles since the turn of the millennium. With Rory McIlroy in the mix backing a British Winner would certainly be a good bet and we'll have the latest odds and tips on his form here at

Local knowledge can also play a bit part when betting on The Open Championship. If you are aware that the course is playing particularly difficult then it may be wise to bet on the winning score being relatively high. If you know that the rough has been cut short and the greens are soft, then you could bet on a low score winning the title.

Other opportunities to use free bets on The Open include:

  • Betting on the first, second and third round leaders
  • 18-hole two-balls and three-balls
  • Top 10 finishes
  • Whether there will be a hole-in-one
  • Will the tournament will be decided by a play-off

How can I claim my free Open Championship free?

Begin by picking out which of the sign-up offers best suits your punting style and budget, then register for a new sports betting account with that bookmaker by clicking on a link or banner that you see on and entering your details. Once you have registered you’ll need to make an initial deposit (unless your chosen free bet offer states that no deposit is required) and place a bet.

Once your initial bet has been placed and settled, your Open Championship free bet will be released. Then in order to utilise your free bet tokens simply place a bet in the same manner as you would normally, but select the ‘free bet’ icon before confirming.

You can bet on any aspect of the championships, whether that be the winner of the tournament, if a player will make the cut or the winning score. All bookmakers allow punters to use their golf free bets on The Open Championship with many also introducing special offers and increased place terms ahead of the event.

As well as free Open Championship bets punters can also take advantage of numerous special offers leading up to and throughout The Open Championships. Some bookmakers habitually enhance their place terms and pay out on the each-way part of bets for players finishing in the top six or even the top seven, others will offer to refund losing bets if a pre-selected player wins the tournament, or return a bettor’s stake if their selection loses in a play-off.

In the past bookmakers have also offered to pay out on selections as a winner if the player gets a hole-in-one at any time over the four days, regardless of their finishing position in the event.

Checking all bookmaker websites in order to find the best offers can be a laborious task, so why not make your first stop. We’ll do the legwork for you and highlight the best offers that the Internet has to offer on these here pages.

Since 1860, The Open has been played over some of the world’s most cherished links courses and has produced a remarkable legacy of great champions. It is the oldest and most international championship in professional golf and the Claret Jug - first presented in 1873 - is one of the most iconic trophies in all of sport.

The very first Open Championship was won by Willie Park Snr. The first 12 Opens were played at Prestwick before it was then taken to St Andrews and Musselburgh and as the years have gone by more and more British courses have been added to The Open roster.

Every fifth Open Championship continues to be staged at St Andrews with the intervening years alternating between eight other links courses in Scotland and England. Courses currently encompassed on The Open Championship roster include Carnoustie, Turnberry, Royal St George’s, Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club, Royal Troon and Muirfield.

Prize money for The Open is not to be sniffed at. The 2016 Open had a total prize money fund of £6.5m and a first prize of £1.175m. Prize money is given to all professionals who make the cut and, since the number of professionals making the cut changes from year to year, the total prize money varies somewhat from the advertised number.

There was no prize money in the first three Opens. In 1863, a prize fund of £10 was introduced, which was shared between the second- third- and fourth-placed professionals, with the Champion keeping the belt for a year. In 1864 Old Tom Morris won the first Champion's cash prize of £6.

Who has previously won?

From earlier greats such as Harry Vardon, Bobby Jones, Henry Cotton and Walter Hagen through modern legends such as Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson, Gary Player and Seve Ballesteros to exceptional talents of today Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Rory McIlroy, the greatest players in the world have faced the unrelenting challenge of The Open for more than 150 years.

The reigning champion of the competition is automatically invited to play in the other three majors (Masters, the U.S. Open, and the PGA Championship) for the next five years. The winner of the Claret Jug gets to marvel at it on their mantlepiece for a year before handing it back for the next Open Championship. They are, though, given a gold medal, which they are allowed to keep permanently.

Until 1870 the champion received a 'Challenge Belt', however when Tom Morris Jnr won the Open Championship three times in a row he got to keep the belt, and the Claret Jug was introduced instead. Wonder what Tom did with the belt?

Daily Betting Offers
Open Account Offer

Up to £100 in Bet Credits for New Customers at bet365 Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. 18+, Time limits and T&Cs apply.

The Open Championship Previews
Search Our Website
Topical Feature Lists

If you fancy a break from the serious side of betting, take a look at our Topical Feature List for a bit of a giggle.

Click Here To View The List »
Download Our App
Free Bets IPhone App
Get the Freebets App on iTunes

Download the free bets finder.

Betting Blog

View our latest sports articles in our betting blog

Read Our Blog »
Back to Top