New Customer Opening Account Offers

18+, Ts & Cs Apply. New Customers Only.

World Grand Prix Free Bets

Played every October, the PDC World Grand Prix is one of the biggest and most important tournaments in the world of darts and has always been a hugely popular event thanks to its unique format that sees players having to hit a double to start a leg as well as finish it.

Our top recommended bookmakers for World Grand Prix Free Bets
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

How to claim your World Grand Prix Free Bet

Michael van Gerwen has won this title four times in the past seven years and there are plenty of opportunities to use your free bet. Once you have decided where you want your money to go and which bookmaker you want to join to place your bet then click on the link on the right hand side of this page to go over to their website.

Once there simply follow the straight forward instructions to sign up with the bookie and then you will be ready to bet for free on the World Grand Prix.

Find 'darts' in the sportsbook and then the Grand Prix tab within the sport, clicking on the odds by your chosen market will add the selection to the betting slip and you are ready to use your free World Grand Prix bet.

Gimme some free World Grand Prix bets tips

The winners market is clearly the one that attracts the most interest and the most money and there will be plenty of debate amongst pundits and fans alike in the build-up to the Grand Prix as to who will be the champion come the end of the contest.

As with all the darting majors though, there are plenty of options if you want to be a little more creative with your World Grand Prix free bet than simply who will get their hands on the trophy. The winning nationality is often a way of spreading your bets if you fancy a number of players from one country but cannot plump for one of them.

With set betting the correct score market is a much more viable option than say in the World Matchplay or Premier League, particularly in the early rounds. With it simply being a race to two legs in the first round and then a race to three in the second and quarter-finals there are much fewer options than other tournaments in terms of the correct score.

Given the double-in-double-out format there is clearly much less chance that a 9-darter will be hit at the Grand Prix, however, it has been proven to be possible. On route to the final of the 2011 tournament Northern Irish qualifier Brendan Dolan hit the first ever 9-darter in this format as he beat James Wade in the last four. Poor old James Wade gets a mention for losing again!

So it is doable but highly unlikely and therefore the odds are very lengthy of it taking place during the tournament and should probably be avoided when betting for free on the World Grand Prix.

What other free World Grand Prix markets are there?

The usual ones you might expect to see will be there when the World Grand Prix rolls around towards the end of the year; including overall winner; individual match odds as well as:

  • Most bullseyes
  • Most 180s
  • Highest check-out
  • Nine dart finishes?
  • 170 check-out
  • Winning nationality
  • To reach the final/semi-final
  • Tournamenet whitewash
  • And more!

There will no doubt be some specials too as TV attentions starts to turn towards the Citywest Hotel in Dublin so keep an eye out for those if you like to bet for free on the World Grand Prix on some of the sillier markets.

How does the World Grand Prix work?

The format clearly makes the contest all the trickier and there have been examples of players losing a leg without even getting off the mark when they just cannot find that elusive starting double. It can be a great leveller but it can also be a great source of embarrassment if you have not put the hours in practicing double top or double 16.

It is also a set format competition much like the World Championship with the first round now being a race to two sets building all the way up to a race to six in the final.

The tournament dates back to 1998 when it was held in Rochester, Kent but it lasted just two years there before crossing the Irish Sea where it spent one year in Rosslare before moving to its spiritual home of the Citywest Hotel in Dublin in 2001.

Qualification for the competition sees the top 32 players in the world make it into the tournament along with the top 14 on the Pro Tour Order of Merit who are joined by the top two non-qualified Irish players on the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

Like near enough every tournament in the sport it has been dominated by Phil Taylor over the years with the Power winning the first three editions of the event and 10 in all between 1998 and 2012 which is some achievement. The other men to get their name on the famous trophy are Alan Warriner-Little, Colin Lloyd, James Wade (twice) and Michael van Gerwen as of 2012.

Held in October of every year the tournament is held very much in the build-up to the biggest event of them all, the World Championship which begins in December, so often the man who prospers in Dublin is one to watch at the Ally Pally.

£20 Free Bets Coral

As with the World Matchplay and PDC World Championship, there is a heavy bookie presence at the World Grand Prix. The tournament was originally sponsored by Paddy Power before Sky Bet took over in 2004. The subsidiary Sky Poker followed as the tournament's sponsor in 2008 and 2009. In 2010, online gambling company Bodog became the event's title sponsor and in 2011 took over as sponsor. The current sponsor is another bookmaker - Unibet.

Although he has dominated the event with eleven title wins, Phil Taylor has been knocked out of the World Grand Prix three times in the first round. In 2001, he lost 2–1 to qualifier Kevin Painter, in 2004 by 2 sets to 0 to Andy Callaby, and in 2007 he went down 2–0 in sets to Adrian Gray. 

Recent World Grand Prix Winners

  • 2018 - Michael van Gerwen
  • 2017 - Daryl Gurney
  • 2016 - Michael van Gerwen
  • 2015 - Robert Thornton
  • 2014 - Michael van Gerwen
  • 2013 - Phil Taylor
  • 2012-  Michael van Gerwen
  • 2011 - Phil Taylor
  • 2010 - James Wade
  • 2009 - Phil Taylor
Back to Top